BEYOND LOVE (chapter 1)

BEYOND LOVE +

CHAPTER ONE

I’m walking absentmindedly towards my aunt’s home in the neighbouring village.

I’ve just received the most heartbreaking news ever.

I won’t be able to join the university because I didn’t pass well enough.

My grades are just average.

My mum can’t afford to see me though college either. It would mean her selling her only piece of land and the few goats she has.

I won’t let that happen. Never.

She has just send me on an errand and I just don’t feel like going. But do I have a choice?

I’m thinking about going to the big city to look for a job……any kind of job will be a most welcome relief.

I’m almost at my aunt’s house when I hear a car hooting behind me. I’m very sure I’m not walking on the road and I wonder why the driver can’t see that.

I’m not in best of my moods and if he or she continues hooting, I’ll be forced to snap at him.

The hooting continues as a black sleek grey car stops right infront of me.

The windows are rolled down and I can clearly see the driver.

He’s a man!

What does he want?

I walk past him, not sparing him any glance until he calls out my name.

“Sandra?”

He knows my name?

I have no need to freak out. He obviously knows me.

I turn back and peep directly into the driver’s seat.

“Oscar!!”

I exclaim, jumping up and down like the teenager that I am.

“Where are you going Sandra, I can take you there!”

“I’m going to my aunt’s place, not so far from here. I can walk! “

” The sun is too scorching! Come I take you! “

He insists.

I have nothing to lose.

He opens the passenger door for me and as I make myself comfortable, we shake hands.

*********

I met Oscar three years ago when he had bought a land in our village and my mum used to sell food to the workers who used to build his house.

Being her only child, I used to accompany her there and also run errands for the workers.

******”*””

” You’ve grown so big Sandra! “

He wakes me up from my reverie.

” Oh! You look good too. How’s your wife and kid?”

He hasn’t started driving yet.

” Oh! She left! We had a misunderstanding and she left with my son!”

“Oh I’m so sorry! I shouldn’t have asked!”

” No problem Sandra, I’ve moved on already. I’ve already divorced her and I’m at peace!”

He drives me to my aunt’s place but parks far from her homestead. After conveying my message from mum, I go back and find him waiting for me.

“Let’s go to my house!”

“No, mum is waiting for me. Maybe some other time.”

” I’m going back to the city tomorrow morning. Maybe you can tell me how you performed over a cup of coffee and see if I can help you!”

The deal is too mouthwatering to refuse…..

After all it’s just coffee….

and talking.

The drive to his house is short. He lives in the same village as mine. I’m glad the windows are tinted, nobody will see me inside his car!

Who am I lying to?

I’m just consoling myself.

He parks in his compound as a gentleman, he helps me open the door.

He leads me into the house, talking happily.

It’s a Modern day house, looking so standard to be in this kind of a village. I only had a chance to get inside when the builders were still working on it but since they fenced it, I’ve been seeing it as I pass by.

I make myself comfortable on the couch as he gets into the kitchen.

Minutes later, he comes out with two mugs of coffee on a tray and some sausages.

It’s long since I ate sausages therefore I get myself busy, sipping on the tasty coffee as I bite on the yummy sausages.

“You love them?”

I just nod. I can’t speak on a full mouth. He’ll find  me mannerless. +

Why am I even worried about my manners?

“Sandra, I never had time to ask you about yourself!”

He starts.

” Tell me about Sandra, will you?”

” I’ve nothing interesting to tell you about me Oscar. I’m just a poor girl from a poor family. As you know, my dad died when I was barely four and my mum has been struggling to bring me up after my uncle’s chased her away. She was lucky to have a caring father who gave her part of his land to build there. My mum has been a hardworking woman and she saw me through school. It’s just sad that I couldn’t get the required grade to join university!”

He is listening carefully, nodding as if urging me to tell him more.

“I’ll take you to college!”

“What? Are you serious?”

“Yes Sandra. I’m serious. You’ll do a bridging course then join a private college. I have the money to see you through!”

” No, I can’t accept this offer. No!”

I’m already in tears.

I can’t imagine such kind hearted people still exist.

I know Oscar is a filthy rich man but I didn’t expect him to pay my school fees! No!

“I’ll help you Sandy, trust me please!”

Nobody has ever fondly called me Sandy. They all call me Sandra, except my grandma who occasionally calls me so, when she wants favours from me, ofcourse….

The way he calls me, gives me goose bumps.

He’s so sweet!

I can’t control my tears.

I’m sobbing softly, cupping my face on my hands.

I don’t notice him drawing near me.

He places his hand on my shoulders and lift my face up with the other.

We’re looking at each other and all I see in his eyes is lust!

“Don’t cry girl, I’ll be there for you. You’re so cute to cry!”

This makes me cry even more.

I don’t know why I’m crying.

Is it because he’s holding me in a long manner, which nobody else has ever held me?

Or is it because he has promised to pay my fees?

All I feel inside me are butterflies……and more butterflies.

As his eyes bores into mine, I can’t help but see the kindness in them…..and lust too.

I can tell he has been through alot in his marriage. Maybe the wife was a thorn in his flesh.

He’s ten years older than me, but he looks young and he has tried his best to keep fit.

I bite on to my lower lip absent mindedly.

I don’t want him to think I want him.

I entangle myself from his arms and continue sipping on my coffee.

“You’re so beautiful Sandy. I like you?”

That makes me choke on my coffee!

” You what?”

I’m almost screaming!

TBC

 WATCH OUT

Leave a comment